Edition 2018

International Composition Competition Torre della Quadra 2018


Jacopo Aliboni Orchestra Section, Winner

BIO – After his time at the “Accademia Sperimentale di Cinema di Bologna”, he received the title of Sound Engineer and then worked for the Ciampi Prize, Cleopatra musical tour, and Radio Flash of Livorno. He was responsible for scheduling, copywriting and creating programs.
He graduated from the institute “P. Mascagni” of Livorno after studying Composition and subsequently studied at the “Scuola di Musica” in Fiesole. He composed music and sound for transversal clients: radiotelevision; experimental theatre and comedy; short films; concert halls and contemporary music festivals.
He received various prizes and commissions including (the most recent):
prize TIM 2014, award rendano 2015, Veretti 2015 and 2017, International Film Festival Cannes 2015 and 2017, Biennale Musica di Venezia 2016, Orchestra da Camera Fiorentina 2016, prize “Città di Udine” 2016, Maggio Musicale Fiorentino,Filarmonica orchestras, A. Toscanini of Parma 2017, Papa Benedetto XVI 2017 Award.

Tomoya Yokokawa Chamber Section, Winner

BIO – Tomoya Yokokawa was born 1988 in Nagano (Japan). In 2011 he finished his study of music pedagogy (main emphasis: composition) at Tokyo Gakugei University with Masahiro Yamauchi and Choji Kaneda as well as with the private lecturer Miyuki Shiozaki. In 2013 he moved to Austria and began to study composition with Klaus Lang at the Kunst Universität Graz. In 2016 he continues his Master at the Universität der Künste Berlin with Elena Mendoza.
The compositions of Tomoya Yokokawa were performed many musicians, for example Dario Calderone (Double bass), Leszek Lorent (Percussion), Duo LuKo, the Ensemble “Avanti! Chamber Orchestra“ and Ensemble Boswil. His first Opera “Konjiki Yasha (the golden demon)” will be premiered at Graz Opera in May 2018.

Berlin University of the Arts (Germany)
Master’s degree of composition with Elena Mendoza
University of music and performing arts Graz (Austria)
Bachelor’s degree of composition with Klaus Lang (final grade: 1)
Tokyo Gakugei University (Japan)
Bachelor’s degree of the Music Pedagogic (main emphasis: composition) with Masahiro Yamauchi
and Choji Kaneda (final grade: 1)

Haris Kittos Special Mention, Duo Category

BIO – Born in 1971, Haris Kittos is a Greek composer and visual artist who lives in London. In 1998, after concluding his studies in music and fine art in his home town, Thessaloniki, he moved to the UK in order to study composition at Trinity College of Music at postgraduate level with Andrew Lovett and Daryl Runswick. Further study with Diana Burrell and full scholarship at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama led to MMus with distinction in 2001. In 2008, fully funded by the AHRC and under the supervision of Julian Anderson, Dr Darla Crispin and Edwin Roxburgh, he concluded the DMus in composition at the Royal College of Music, where he is lecturing and teaching since 2004.
Haris has also studied briefly with Theodore Antoniou, Susan Bradshaw, Beat Furrer, Alexander Goehr and, as a participant of the Blue Touch Paper scheme of the London Sinfonietta, he was mentored by Georges Aperghis. His music has been performed throughout the UK and abroad by Arditti Quartet, dissonArt, Ensemble Exposé, Ensemble In Extremis, ExplorEnsemble, Fukio Ensemble, Milos Karadaglic, London Sinfonietta, Jane Manning, Mise-en Ensemble, Sarah Nicolls, UMS ‘n JIP and others. Festivals participation include Ear London Festival, Forum Wallis, InTransit Festival, Mixtur Festival, Mise-en Festival, Spoleto Festival and Taukay Contemporanea Festival among others.

Yejune Synn Special Mention, Trio Category

BIO – Yejune was born in 1991, in Seoul, South Korea.

Studied Composition at Korea National University of Arts (Bachelor)

Studied with Unsuk Chin, GeonYoung Lee, Sungi Kim, ByungEun You, SungHo Hwang

Won the 2016 ISCM Young Composer Award
Selected by ISCM World Music Days (2016)
Won the 2015 Alvarez Chamber Orchestra Composer Competition “Mullord Award” Selected by Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra Reading Section (2014, 16) Selected by Pan Music festival (2011, Korean ISCM Section)


Stefano Gervasoni | Composer, President of the commission – http://www.stefanogervasoni.net


Pierre Rigaudière | (Musicologist – France) – https://cerhic.hypotheses.org/1097


Andrea Cavallari | Composer – http://www.andreacavallari.com


Giorgio Colombo Taccani | Composer – http://www.colombotaccani.it/


Marco Lombardi | Composer, “Ensemble Nuove Musiche” Member – http://marcolombardi.eu